top of page

Always Ask for the Second Opinion by Exaggerating the First One. And Respect Your Joints.

Two days ago, I wrote a blog about how I met a very nice husband of a talented writer who was afraid of sharing her writing with the public. If you remember, I met him while waiting for my car to get inspected in the local Pep Boys franchise. If you remember, they gave me a list of things to fix that would cost me a lot of money. Well, I added a few hundred to their amount just to make it all dramatic. However, it was still more than what I had in my bank account. I got upset and a little bit nervous but not desperate. I took the list but refused to fall into the same car-fix scare hole that I got into with my first car. I proudly drove my car out of their garage with my chin up while my heart sinking and my head hurting. But I refused to believe that my car will " catch on fire'' today or tomorrow because of whatever ripped gaskets and joints it had.  As a dancer, I value joints a lot. That's why, I knew I needed a second opinion.  Well, I asked a few people if they knew any neighborhood based private spot that might take a look at my car. And guess what? I got one. I went to this local shop recommended to me by my coworker. There I met a guy named Al. He has an iron elbow. Literally, it is iron. he got into some accident and destroyed his joint ten years ago. I am telling you, respect your joints. Al is awesome. We had a nice talk about life and beer, and how now he learned that safety is everything. The guy that Al works with is Nick. Nick is a cool man who worked in that shop since 1980!!! Six years before I was even born. The whole shop is so freaking cool it should be used for the next Transformers movie. Although, this shop is not a franchise  as the movie is. But we all know that movies are made up anyway. I'd rather Nick and Al make some money on this franchise.  Well, Nick took my car and the list. And it will cost me only about $800 to fix all the serious issues and drive my car without cursing it for making me slave for another 6 months just to pay it all off. Saving almost $1000 ( no dramatic exaggeration this time) makes me very very happy. I am attaching the card of this awesome place and am highly encouraging all of my friends and readers to share whatever good local shops they know of. It is time we all get paid for work we do and not franchises they own. But most importantly, please take care of your joints now!  

Recent Posts
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page