top of page

How I had 40 to 60 Auditions a Day in Philadelphia till I Lost My Job.

Yes, you read it correctly. I was getting 40 to 60 auditions a day in Philadelphia. How ? I had a full time door to door sales job with an energy company that offers a fixed flat rate for small businesses. Although, I had only one simple monologue called a pitch, I still had a lot of creative space in how I could use it. Moreover, once the pitch was over, it became a pure structural improvisation with unpredictable results. Since I was scared to audition for my real acting jobs and too busy occupied with tasting the routinely life of a person with a regular gig, I used my work time wisely. I used it to become a better actor who can walk into an audition in his own skin.

Here is the description of how I did it during my last day of working for the sales company. I lost the job because I did not close enough deals. However, I got more than enough experience of walking into any door for the rest of my acting career, Here is the short description of my last audition training day at my sales job.

It was a wonderful morning in Philadelphia. The sun was shining. The birds were singing. I woke up early to do my morning voice/movement routine to get myself into a right state of mind. It was Thursday. Thursday is the last day of the sales week for those who are not too familiar with this amazing profession. I was excited because I knew I would have an early start. I also needed a deal since I had not closed any deals for the last two weeks. Today was my get it or lose it day. I had my healthy breakfast and went on my journey to find a nice businessman or a nice businesswoman who would appreciate my desire to give him/her a nice deal. Isn't it what all actors want to do for a casting director? Give him/her a nice character package so that the casting director can confidently say yes to your offer?

My first audition was at a small bakery that just opened. An owner looked exactly like you'd expect an owner of a bakery look like. She looked like a sweet doughnut and sounded like she just had one. She was extremely nice to me. She listened attentively to my monologue and realized that my offer would definitely benefit her establishment in a long run. She did not have all proper paperwork for me to close the deal right then and there. I left her my card, complimented the colorful interior design of her sweet place, and walked out. I felt good. No sale yet but it was a promising beginning of my auditioning adventure.

I looked up into a beautiful bright sky and sent some of my most grateful thoughts as high as my mental imagery allowed me. I took 7 steps and entered into a new business establishment. The door had a sign on it "We Buy Gold". Confident in my ability to deliver my sales monologue to emphasize the golden value of my offer, I firmly stepped into the door. I saw nobody but somebody heard my walking in. "Can I help you?", a male voice came from behind the pile of stuff. "Yes sir', I answered. I took two more steps toward the direction where the voice was coming from. There was a business owner sitting on a chair with huge stacks of paper all around him. He had a promising complexion of soon to become a regular customer for the bakery that I just left.

"How are you sir?", I asked him politely with my sales badge hanging on a long leash from my neck.

"Are you trying to sell me something", the experienced businessman asked.

"Not really. you are already using the product that we offer. I am here to simply...", I was about to give this man my best Pacino pitch.

"Get the FUCK OUT OF MY STORE", the man shouted.

"Excuse me?", I asked him to make sure I heard him correctly.

"YOU ARE NOT GOING TO SELL ME SHIT", the man continued," SO GET YOUR ASS OUT OF MY STORE".

"You are right sir because I don't sell shit", I kept trying to play a diplomat since it's a cool role to play one day.

"I SAID GET THE FUCK OUT", and despite his impressive complexion the man jumped out of his business throne fairly quickly and leaned forward with all his mighty belly pressing down onto his knees.

For some interesting reason, I felt nothing but a slight wave of energy dropping into my own belly and filling me with an air of confident creativity.

"Why the fuck are you still standing here?", the man who buys gold almost spitted into my face.

"Sir, I am standing here because I am about to leave. But the only way I can leave is on my own terms. And my terms are very simple. I prefer your not being so close to me when I turn around," some mysterious spirit spoke through me.

I gave myself three more seconds. Then, thanks to my dance training, I made a smooth half turn and gracefully exited the golden stage.

I got into my car. I spent a few minutes contemplating about my entire life. Then I got out of my car. I walked back into the business. I took my business card out of my pocket. I put it on some little table. "Here is my information, sir, in case you change your mind", I said firmly and made my final exit.

Where on this planet can you find a better acting workshop then the one I just had? And remember, I had at least 40 more doors to walk into that day. And I had been doing it for the last 4 months, 5 days a week.

Three major lessons that this real life workshop taught me about a craft of acting are:

1. Every door you walk into is an opportunity to offer something they will value even if they don't buy it right there and then.

2. Every door is an opportunity to walk out on your own terms.

3. Every door is an opportunity to come back into with a little bit more firmness in your voice.

If you are an actor who is scared of auditions, you can get paid for working on this skill auditioning 40 to 60 times a day. Just pick a side gig for a similar company, And as you can see, you pick your own character for every audition! And just like in real action job, you never choose your acting partner.

Feel free to ask me any questions regarding how you can improve your acting skills while doing your daily job.

Photo by Gregory R.R. Crosby

Recent Posts
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page