top of page

Choices Inspired by a Cell. Dedicated to Al Pacino.

“The single cell has the power of choice, for it refuses to eat what is unwholesome and extends itself mightily to reach that which is nourishing”.

Psychology and Achievement by Warren Hilton

Choices. That’s all we have in life and acting. I still remember how confusing it was for me to hear my first acting teacher from Santa Monica College Peter Schwartz telling me that he was satisfied with my acting choices for my monologue from the play Does a Tiger Wear a Necktie by Don Peterson. To confess, I had no idea I made any choices. It was my first ever monologue. I knew nothing about choices or acting at the moment. I took acting just so I could overcome my language and cultural barrier. All I knew was I liked the monologue. My Bible teacher at that time recommended me this monologue. It spoke to me on some visceral level. And so, I chose to perform it with passion and common sense. It was only a year later when I decided to go back and read the whole play. Imagine my surprise when I found out that it was the play which made Al Pacino a theater star by getting him his first Tony Award. I actually have to say that Al Pacino made the play famous because initially the part that he played was written for a tall blond man with handsome features. Well, it just tells you that an actor can change everything if he makes the right choices and brings to the part not some distant idea of the role but himself in flesh and spirit into the role by taking charge of everything he does and says.

Choices. I believe that an actor has to stay healthy to be able to endure and enjoy his/her acting journey, I consistently research the ways to inspire myself and others to find all the possibilities of making acting and living choices that are grounded in wholesome and holistic understanding of our human nature. Imagine my surprise when I ran into this amazing book Psychology and Achievement by Warren Hilton where he describes how even one, yes, one little tiny invisible to our naked eye cell “has the power of choice,..., and extends itself to reach that which is nourishing”. This scientific fact made me feel inspired and scared at the same time. It inspired me because now I knew that every single cell in my body wants to be healthy. It scared me because now I knew how much power and responsibility I actually have as an actor and a human being. I have the power of making choices and feed my soul and body with wholesome and inspiring food. As soon as this idea hit my gut, I made myself a nice protein shake; went to the gym; came back and looked at all of my favorite Al Pacino monologues. Then, I dressed up in my favorite blue shirt and slim grey pants and walked to the local branch of Bank of America on Market Street in the City of Brotherly Love. this time I went there not to deposit my one dollar tip money but to give to a very pretty employee that I really like a dark chocolate as a token of appreciation for being so patient with my deposits and jokes. And we all know that nothing beats dark chocolate in such cases. Moreover, it is really good for your heart and your brain. Well, it's also good to like someone and to express it even if you do it in the most awkward fashion. At least, I made a choice that is true to myself. Needless to say, it worked.

Choices. I always feel a little out of place when I am submitting my profile to the casting directors or agents thinking they might be expecting a “tall handsome blond man”. But I am only 5’75 and have black curly hair and a broken nose. I am not even talking about my rusty voice and an ambiguous accent. However, now, being well equipped with the knowledge about the power of choices on the cellular level, I simply have no choice but to choose to take my “feeling and consciousness” which is the “feeling and consciousness of millions of cells” and share them with the people who are so eager to finally meet a person who brings himself into the role. I also now choose to bring the roles with me by looking out for stories and people I would like to bring into life through my craft. Thanks to my Philadelphia brothers from Steven Michael Studios, I realized there is a place and a story for everyone to have. Otherwise, why would anyone ever hire Al Pacino for The Godfather? I bet if we ask Francis Ford Coppola why he wanted Al Pacino so badly, he would say he simply felt it with his gut after watching Al Pacino perform on stage in the play that Mr. Pacino was cast against all the logical explanations. At least, that's what I choose to believe.

Choices. My dear fellow actor and human being, I hope you do the same and always make a choice of being a healthy cell that lives outside of the cells that some people in society so treacherously call the type casting; the social norms and realistic expectations.

Thank you Mr. Pacino and all the other Cells that worked so hard to let your talents shine and skills inspire millions of artists across the world.

Recent Posts
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page