top of page

Just Keep On Doing It and Sharing That. Inspired by James Altucher blog posts, book, and the lives o

Today, while waiting for my car to get inspected by car doctors and their front desk lawyers, I met a very nice man. He was a little nervous about something. He politely asked me if he could turn on TV. He did not want to distract me from reading a book. Yes, I was reading the book written by now one of my favorite free thinkers James Altucher titled The Choose Yourself Guide to Wealth. I said I was totally fine with it. The man turned the TV on but turned it off right way. Apparently TV noise is not as soothing when one has to pay about $1000 to change three flat tires in one day. At that time, I got to a funny passage in the book about how to do lists do not really work but actually "kill people". And I laughed a little too loud because it's very true in my life. I am not sure how about yours. So I apologized to my friend in trouble about laughing a little too loud. I then went into my friendly pitch about how funny this book was. I always want people to read what I read. It's just my nature. I do not try to sell this book. But I would highly recommend it. I mentioned to him the life story of the author and how he makes it easy for me to just go and do things I want to do without worrying about being perfect or the best. I mentioned him that that's how I started this blog. I just stopped being worried and started writing my ideas and experiences to share them with my friends and people who might have a good time reading my funny sentences. As soon as I said that, the man told me that he 'wished his wife did the same thing because she is a great writer and has a talent but is afraid of putting herself out there". She even has offers from people to be their social media content manager or something like that. In other words, people will pay her good money to write. But she is just afraid. Now, when he spoke these words, his voice was so gentle and even had that tender shaking quality that one has right before starting to cry. I told him that I understand her. I mentioned how James mentions in his book that FEAR OF NOT BEING GOOD ENOUGH prevents A LOT OF PEOPLE OUT THERE from sharing some brilliant ideas and talents. I told him how I was afraid of sharing my plays with my friends that eventually became the short films because contrary to my belief, my friends loved them and helped me to turn them into the short films that even got into some fake and real film festivals. He seemed to get surprised which I can't really blame him for. I was dressed up more like a gym rat than a writer or film maker. I also do have some accent when I am getting excited talking about things I love. Well, by the end of our short but extremely open and private conversation, I managed to offer him my card asking him to give it to his wife. Maybe,this simply written blog or my story of becoming a creative person or the story of James Altucher and many others who preserve sensitive soul to be able to create and grow thick skin to be able to share their creation with others will remind her of that one and only real thing that truly matters: if people that love you and know you better than anyone else believe in and support your talent, you can care less about what anyone else will say about your work. Especially, if they are willing to pay for it.

By the way, if you happen to care, my car did not pass the inspection because I could not afford $2100 of total repairs so generously offered me by the people who wanted to help me with my car. I am getting a second opinion on it. Just in case :)

(This is Keith Johnson, my dance teacher and friend who all his life has been fighting for what he believes in and expressing it through dance, art, and now acting. He is not afraid of being a dead body on film set either. That's actually the only way to keep him quiet sometimes. The picture is taken during filming The "Janitor", a short comedy directed by Gregory R.R. Crosby that you can find on my website or YouTube ).

Recent Posts
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page