top of page

Tips on Choreographing and Filming Action Sequences for Your Next Awesome Indie Project. Chapter 2

As I promised, Chapter 2 is here. This time we will be talking about some nuances of collaboration between a director, a choreographer, and an actor. Although we have finished filming only the first episode of the sci-fi action drama series The Omega created by Steven Michael, the experience gathered during this tough but extremely empowering process is abundant and can be helpful to those who are planning to have action sequences in their projects.

Tip # 1: Director: You should know that sometimes things that you see in your mind are simply impossible to choreograph, so trust your choreographer who probably knows what it is that you are trying to describe. Bodies are not visions. They are real and made out of bones and muscles. Moreover, be careful trying to think that your tech skills can fix clumsy moves of your actors. Have an extra take. Steven was patient enough to let me actually share my opinion whether we have enough takes that can do justice to the choreography. Actor: You should make sure that your muscles always stay warm between the takes. Otherwise, you will pull your muscles and create a lot of problems for you and your team. I am pretty sure you heard it many times in your fitness classes that you regularly take to stay in shape. Also, rehearse your choreography over and over again. Trust me, your choreographer might or might not remember your movement,spacing, and timing. His job is to choreograph. Your job is to practice and remember. Choreographer: Do not assume that all actors know how to move just because it's an action film. Be patient and professional by taking your time to break every single step, turn, twist, fall, kick, and punch.

Tip #2: Director: When you see that a choreographer is too stubborn to adjust some choreography despite the fact that an actor is simply not capable of executing it, say something like this: "Well, you know, I think I'd like to have something different here, because I see this scene a little bit different now". I can't thank Steven enough for saving me from embarrassing myself and an actor by trying too hard to teach something that was not to happen. Plus, your actor will still feel confident enough about his/her abilities and not feel awkward next time (s)he is being taught something. Actor: Please, do not say you worked on your choreography a lot if you did not. One can easily spot when you are simply making stuff up. It's not cool. Your choreographer asks that question, because he needs to know whether he needs to go over it more than once and maybe break it down again before the shooting. Remember, the goal is to make it as smooth as possible. Otherwise, once on set, you will embarrass yourself and your choreographer, and waste a lot of time and money. I am not mentioning the fact that the choreographer might or might not be fired, but you will not get any extra fighting scenes for sure.

Tip#3: Director: Encourage your choreographer to voice his opinion. I was fortunate enough to work with Steven who always asked me to say if anything went wrong or could've be done better. Do not assume that your choreographer will do it automatically. I would not if not encouraged, because I would not want to overstep my boundaries and direct a film. It's not my job in this case. That's why, take advantage if you see that your choreographer has a good cinematic eye and ask him to be comfortable to share his thoughts. Choreographer: Yes, it is your choreography, but it is NOT YOUR FILM. It was especially hard for me to digest and be cool with, because I come from the dance world where a choreographer is actually the main guy who calls the shots. Again, I would like to thank Steven for being so cool with my enthusiasm to describe how I see it on camera. However, you should also know that the director might not be an action guy. That's when it gets tricky. The best thing to do is to ask if your director "would not mind" your "sharing a few observations". Be brave but polite. He might THANK YOU later for saving a scene. The key is to be clear and polite. Always.

Actor: Listen and DO NOT NOD IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND!!! I had to work fast on this project, so sometimes I had to choreograph and teach at the same time. That's why, I was very grateful to those actors who would ask questions. Otherwise, I would just keep on making stuff up without realizing that some people need an extra demonstration or explanation. I would rather do it now while it's fresh in my body and mind rather than coming back to it later when I probably have forgotten it myself :)

Photo by aikobphotography

Thank You for reading the Second Chapter of my Blog Session on Choreographing and Filming an Action. I really hope you enjoy and learn a lot from it. Please feel free to leave any comments and ask any questions about any information above. I would do my best to answer it in the clearest way possible.

Recent Posts
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page