top of page

Tips on Choreographing and Filming Action Sequences for Your Next Awesome Indie Project. Chapter 1.

The Omega is a sci-fi action drama series created by Steven Michael ,a Pennsylvania based film-maker. I will share with you some other time how I met him and got involved as an actor, co-producer, and action choreographer of his great project that allowed me to get my skills sharpened , so I could write this blog for you . Most likely, I will do it after we release our GoFundMe page.

Today, I'd like to share with you some tips that can help anyone who would like to learn more about filming action sequences.

Tip #1: Director: Make sure you hire or find actors that are willing to take directions. We had some actors showing up for an action rehearsal thinking that they will just have to stand there and look cool. That's not how it works. Even Vin Diesel has to move in his action films sometimes.

Actor: You're probably thinking that you know how to take directions. Alas, it's not true. My advice for you is to go take dance classes. Yes, you've read it right. While choreographing the action film, I realized that even people with the serious martial arts backgrounds can have a hard time performing a stylized fighting choreography. That's because they keep doing the same kicks and punches for years, and then a choreographer and a director tell them that they have to do something very different, because FILMING ACTION is not about FIGHTING but about MOVING. The best classes to take would be Modern Dance and some ballet. It will open up a whole new world for you as a performer and a human being :)

Tip 2: Director: Articulate your vision clearly to your choreographer. In our case, Steven and I talked a lot about how he saw the final product. We also discussed a lot about how we wanted to take advantage of the environment that we would be filming in. For instance, we had a fighting scene that took place in a big open space where one character had to fight a lot of other fighters. I used a lot of nice kicks and some crazy 'lift and hit' moves from my Modern Dance background. It allowed actors to showcase their physique while allowing our camera guy capture bith the fight and the environment.

Tip #3: Director: We all know how precious time is when trying to make a film. But mark my words, NEVER TRY TO FILM ACTION WITH ONLY ONE REHEARSAL PRIOR TO IT IF YOUR FILM HAS AN ACTION SEQUENCE THAT IS MORE THAN JUST THREE PUNCHES AND ONE KICK.

Actor: You've got to make sure you take care of your safety and well being first when it is time to perform the choreography. I was nice enough to warm up my actors and to keep reminding them about staying safe. However, from my personal experience in doing some acting work for other action films, I know there are choreographers out there that do not care about actors, because they come from a different world and understand little about the film industry. Again, I am talking an indie film here. Do not be a naive indie actor. Be smart.

Tip #4: Actor: DO NOT FIGHT. Yes, you are not supposed to fight. You are supposed to perform the moves that your choreographer gives and teaches you. I had to remind my actors over and over again not to fight but to simply execute the movement that I gave them as clearly as possible.

It all might sound like a lot of common sense to you right now. However, believe me, you will be surprised how much more prepared you will be if you keep these tips in mind.

I will be adding more chapters to this blog on certain specifics of the mystery behind making an action film. Thank you for reading. If you have any questions regarding this specific post or anything else that you think I might have an answer for, shoot it :)

Recent Posts
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page